Gene Ochsenreiter Lifetime Achievement Award

Since 2000, the Mountain Amateur Athletic Club has recognized and honored a Western North Carolina community leader involved in athletics with the Gene Ochsenreiter Lifetime Achievement Award.

The honor, originally named the MAAC Lifetime Achievement Award, was renamed in 2008 to honor Ochsenreiter, a former Asheville mayor who was instrumental in creating and sustaining both the MAAC and the WNC Sports Awards Banquet, which has recognized the top area athletes and awarded scholarships since 1957.

The award, sponsored by  Moog Music, is presented each year at the banquet.   

2000 – Norris Jones, football coach

2001 – Fleming Talman, civic and community leader

2001 - H.H. “Zeugie” Zeugner, civic and community leader

2002 – Dave Hart, football coach, athletic director, community volunteer

2002 – Dr. David Cappiello, football player/team physician  

2002 – J.D. Jackson, community leader, volunteer

2003 – Bill Churm, football coach, volunteer   

2003 – Albert (Tuck) Gudger, athlete and community leader

2004 – Joel W. Wright Jr., football player, community leader  

2004 – Wilbur Eggleston, football coach

2005 – Betsy Montgomery, swimming coach

2005 – Dr. Wayne Montgomery, community volunteer

2006 – Bob Terrell, Asheville Citizen-Times journalist

2006 – Owen High girls basketball program, 1964-70 (Dynasty Award winner)

2007 – Zeb Lee, Radio broadcaster  

2008 – Tom Ruffing, tennis volunteer

2009 – Bob Adams, golf volunteer  

2010 – Jim Drummond, community volunteer

2014 – Keith Jarrett, Asheville Citizen-Times journalist

2015 - Jamie Blue, community volunteer

2015 - Eddie Dalton, community volunteer

2016 - Mike Gore, sports information director, UNC Asheville

2016 - Steve White, sports information director, WCU

2017 - Phil Lytle, semi-pro football coach and mentor

2017 - Robbinsville High football program (Dynasty Award winner)

2018 - Gene McClure, Erwin statistician